Letter to Timothy P. White, Chancellor, California State University and Lynn Mahoney, President, San Francisco State University re: Cancellation of 2 Palestine-Specific Classes in the Arab and Muslim Ethnicities and Diasporas Studies (AMED) program at San Francisco State University

Timothy P. White, Chancellor, California State University twhite@calstate.edu

Lynn Mahoney, President, San Francisco State University, lynnmahoney@sfsu.edu

Dear Chancellor White and President Mahoney:

 

We, the California Scholars for Academic Freedom,** a group of over two hundred scholars throughout California, write to you today about our concerns over the recent cancellation of two Palestine-specific classes in the Arab and Muslim Ethnicities and Diasporas Studies (AMED) program at SFSU that are scheduled for the Fall 2020 semester. The two classes, “The Palestine Mural” and “Comparative Border Studies Palestine and Mexico,” offered by lecturers, were cancelled under the misleading term of “hiding” them, where these classes were not transparently offered in the campus class schedule.  The reason professor Abdulhadi was given for the cancellation of the courses was the drop in SFSU student enrollment due to the COVID-19 pandemic. We are equally concerned about the impact such cancellation will have on lecturers’ livelihood which is already precarious to start with. As you know faculty on several U.S. campuses have threatened to boycott any campus that causes the loss of lecturer income (https://www.academicsolidaritystatement.com/ )

Frankly, the cancellation of these two classes raises questions, given the other recent actions taken by the administration toward the program and Professor Abdulhadi herself, about which we have repeatedly written to you and past SFSU and CSU leadership. The actions constitute a troubling pattern that cannot be attributed to accidental and isolated incidents but seem designed in our view to attempt to silence Dr. Abdulhadi’s scholarship, pedagogy and advocacy on justice in/for Palestine by high-level administrators at SFSU, who also cater to donors outside SFSU. These actions can only be interpreted as a sustained campaign to make it intolerable for Professor Abdulhadi to work at SFSU, a demand that has been consistently advocated by pro-Israel Zionist groups.  

During this past academic year alone, despite her seniority, Professor Abdulhadi was denied membership in one search committee and kept in the dark over initial and ensuing processes in two other search committees from which she was forced to resign to protest the lack of transparency and irregular actions.

Dr. Abdulhadi was denied an overdue sabbatical for AY 2020-2021. When she tried to appeal this decision that she felt was unfair, she was told that an appeal was a foreclosed option.

Dr. Abdulhadi received assurances that AMED will receive its share of two sections of the Introductory course to Ethnic Studies, a gateway course that would attract incoming students to AMED Studies. She was then told that she missed a deadline. When she pointed out that she didn’t, she was told that the two sections were already staffed ahead of said deadline. Finally, Dr. Abdulhadi offered to teach the two introductory sections at the expense of her own intellectual work as long as the other AMED courses she is scheduled to teach are staffed. That proposal was dismissed and did not even merit a response from SFSU administrators. 

As a one-person program, Dr. Abdulhadi was denied the hire of a work-study student to assist her with her multiple tasks even though funds were already allocated. SFSU claimed that no students would be hired, forcing Dr. Abdulhadi to hire the student out of pocket, a cost she’s been incurring for several years now. 

 

As a faculty member suffering from permanent disabilities, Dr. Abdulhadi has been repeatedly refused accommodation on multiple occasions by the SFSU disability accommodation until in flagrant violation of ADA. This included refusal to accommodate her for online teaching despite strong medical recommendations and the urgent need for her safety given that the author of the July 19, 2019 death threat letter she received was never found. Dr. Abdulhadi was promised the hire of qualified students from top universities who were familiar with her work and required no training. After agreeing while putting her through a lengthy paperwork process, SFSU refused to let her bring in those qualified young persons under the pretext that SFSU did not hire anyone who was not a California resident. When Dr. Abdulhadi pressed for proof that CSU did not have on its payroll a single person who was not a California resident, she was told that this was a decision made by HR, an opaque process that should not be tolerated at a publicly accountable university nor at private institutions for that matter. 

This treatment of Dr. Abdulhadi stands in stark contrast to the recent award Professor Abdulhadi has just received,  the Georgina Smith prize by the Association of American University Professors (AAUP).

In order to address the issues that may be involved in the ​cancellation of AMED courses, we need to have more information about the courses and the lecturers. What other classes have been cancelled because of the pandemic? How many SFSU lecturers’ jobs have been threatened and can you provide us with the names? What were the enrollment numbers for these two classes before they were cancelled? How do these enrollment numbers compare with the enrollment numbers of other cancelled classes and fired lecturers? Why were these two courses cancelled and AMED lecturers fired before Professor Abdulhadi had a chance to apply for CSU wide Course Match, where students from other CSU campuses could take these classes remotely in order to enhance enrollment.  Finally, are you willing to reverse this adverse action and allow the AMED Palestine courses to move forward and lecturers to retain their livelihoods?  

Please send us this information as soon as possible and before this action becomes irreversible. Again, due to other actions taken by the SFSU administration that have hobbled and harmed the AMED program we have to question the reasons for the cancellation of these two classes.

On Behalf of California Scholars for Academic Freedom,

Judith Butler  

Maxine Elliot Professor, Comparative Literature and Critical Theory 

University of California, Berkeley

jpbutler@berkeley.edu

Richard Falk  

Research Associate, Orfalea Center

University of California, Santa Barbara

Professor Emeritus, Princeton University

falk@global.ucsb.edu

Jamal Nassar, Dean Emeritus
College of Social and Behavioral Sciences
California State University, San Bernardino

jnassar@csusb.edu

Hatem Bazian  

Director, Islamophobia Research and Documentation Project, Asian American Studies

University of California, Berkeley

hatemb@berkeley.edu

Sang Kil

Associate Professor

Justice Studies Department

San Jose State University

sangheakil@gmail.com

Nancy Gallagher

Professor Emerita, History

University of California, Santa Barbara

Gallagher@history.ucsb.edu

Vida Samiian

Visiting Researcher, Linguistics

University of California, Los Angeles

Professor of Linguistics and Dean Emerita

California State University, Fresno

vidas@csufresno.edu

Sondra Hale
Professor Emerita
Anthropology and Gender Studies
University of California, Los Angeles

sonhale@ucla.edu

Craig Reinarman

Professor Emeritus of Sociology & Legal Studies

Rachel Carson College 338

University of California

craigr@ucsc.edu

Carole H. Browner

Distinguished Research Professor

Center for Culture and Health

Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior,

Department of Anthropology,

Department of Gender Studies

University of California, Los Angeles

browner@ucla.edu

Suad Joseph  

Distinguished Research Professor

 University of California, Davis

sjoseph@ucdavis.edu

David Klein

Professor of Mathematics

California State University, Northridge

dklein8@gmail.com

Susan Slyomovics

Distinguished Professor of Anthropology and Near Eastern Languages & Cultures

University of California, Los Angeles

ssly@anthro.ucla.edu

Walid Afifi

Professor, Dept of Communication, 

University of California, Santa Barbara

w-afifi@ucsb.edu

Stephen Zunes
Professor of Politics
University of San Francisco

zunes@usfca.edu

Dennis Kortheuer

Dept. of history, emeritus

California State University, Long Beach

Dennis.kortheuer@csulb.edu

Gary Fields

University of California, San Diego

Department of Communication

La Jolla, CA 92093-0503

gfields@ucsd.edu

Ismail Poonawala

Professor of Arabic & Islamic Studies
University of California, Los Angeles

ismailp@gmail.com

Ruth Goldstein

Assistant Professor of Global and International Studies

University of California, Irvine

Rgoldst1@uci.edu

Cc: James Martel, President, California Faculty Association, jmartel@sfsu.edu,  Leticia Hernandez, Chair, CSU Trustees, lhernandez@calstate.edu,Teddy Albiniak, Incoming Chair, Academic Senate, San Francisco State University, Albiniak@sfsu.edu, Nancy C. Gerber, Outgoing Chair, Academic Senate, San Francisco State University, ngerber@sfsu.edu, Professor Rabab Abdulhadi, Director, Arab and Muslim Ethnicities and Diasporas Studies, ria55@sfsu.edu

Cc: Friends of AMED Committee: 

Hatem Bazian <hatemb@berkeley.edu>

Zahra Billoo <zbilloo@cair.com>

Diana Block <dianablock2046@gmail.com>

Terry Collins <cattc@sbcglobal.net>

Nesbitt Crutchfield <malcru@sbcglobal.net>

Jamal Dajani <dajani1001@gmail.com>

Alexei Folger <afolger@me.com>

Ossama Kamel <oKamel@cair.com>

Zoha Khalili <zkhalili@palestinelegal.org>

Lara Kiswani <lara@araborganizing.org>

Loubna Qutami <loubna.qutami@gmail.com>

Penny Rosenwasser <penro@comcast.net>

Saliem Shehadeh <saliem.shehadeh@gmail.com>

Grace Shimizu <gshimizu7@gmail.com>

David Spero RN <nurse@davidsperorn.com>

Michael Yoshii <michaelyoshii1@gmail.com>

3 thoughts on “Letter to Timothy P. White, Chancellor, California State University and Lynn Mahoney, President, San Francisco State University re: Cancellation of 2 Palestine-Specific Classes in the Arab and Muslim Ethnicities and Diasporas Studies (AMED) program at San Francisco State University

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: